The Dress and the Ex

You may remember me talking about me breaking up with my ex a few months ago. Well actually it has been 7 months – how time flies! And during that time I have not heard a peep from him other than in the very early days when I had left a few belongings at his house. Not a peep.

So you can only imagine my feelings when I received an invitation to a wedding party which I knew for sure he would be at. Other than the usual nerves, anxiety etc that any normal person would feel in that situation, I also knew that I had to be looking my absolute most fabulous fabulous!!

In the lead up to the event, I had not long returned from my holiday in Spain. Ok ok I had strategically planned that so I would be tanned for the party. I also managed to purchase a dress after weeks of looking that even if I do say so myself I looked good in.

Getting ready for the event it was hot. Of course we were having a heatwave but that did not stop me. Everything was falling in to place. My joints felt ok. My hair went up perfectly. My make up went right first time. And the dress was the cherry on the cake.

For Dutch courage, me and some friends had a few pre-drinks before we got there. I was well and truly in the zone. I had heard on the grapevine that he had another girlfriend but that didn’t bother me. I had factored her in to my plan too – kill her with kindness! I knew it was going to be awkward but this weird confidence came from nowhere. It was like the Gods were with me on this one. I just knew I had this in the bag.

So I get there and see the bride looking stunning. I had had to miss the wedding in Mexico because of the break up. Then there he was.

The initial meeting was fine. I kept it breezy. He told me I looked nice and had shrunk (I have lost about 2 stone since the break up). I was doing an air punch inside. The night went on and I caught up with all his friends who I knew who were almost still in a state of shock that we had split. I got the vibe that they thought a reconciliation was on the cards and I have to admit that did cross my mind as well. His friends had commented that I looked good to him as well apparently (again another air punch moment).

I had completely succeeded in what I wanted to do which let’s be honest we all want that first post break up meet to be the one where you are looking your best. And I don’t even know why I wanted that feeling because it didn’t change anything. He hasn’t changed his mind. And nor have I. It was the best decision.

Since then I have seen him and the girlfriend. She looked nice. Pretty.

One advantage she does have over me is that she can walk a bit quicker. But hey, speed isn’t everything.

Leave a comment